GLEAMNS Human Resources Commission, Inc.

GLEAMNS Human Resources Commission, Inc.

Energy and Rental Assistance Now Available!

Tuesday, Jan 8, 2019

Funds for energy and rental assistance are now available for assistance in the Greenwood, Laurens, Edgefield, Abbeville, McCormick, Newberry, and Saluda counties! Funds for energy assistance are available in the Cherokee and Spartanburg counties!

The Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) and General Emergency Assistance Program (GEAP) are federally-funded programs designed to assist eligible low-income households meet home heating, cooling, and housing needs. The LIHEAP program is designed to help pay the price of home energy, defined as residential heating and cooling, and to increase energy self-sufficiency; thereby reducing the vulnerability resulting from energy needs. The LIHEAP program is also designed to intervene in energy-related crisis situations and to conduct outreach. LIHEAP services include air conditioners, HVAC purchase/repair or replacement, and paying utility bills. The GEAP program provides rental assistance for individuals facing immediate eviction.

The GLEAMNS Human Resources Commission, Inc. Community Services LIHEAP and GEAP programs that serve the Upper Savannah region of Greenwood, Laurens, Edgefield, Abbeville, McCormick, Newberry, and Saluda counties are making appointments for energy and rental assistance. The GLEAMNS Community Services LIHEAP program also serves the South Carolina Appalachian Region. Cherokee and Spartanburg counties are making appointments for energy assistance.

Some of the goals of the LIHEAP and GEAP programs for the 2019 Program Year are to expand outreach to previously unserved households, reduce and/or prevent poverty, increase efficiency of energy usage, and target energy and rental assistance to eligible households with the highest needs and lowest incomes.

For additional information, you may contact the local GLEAMNS CSBG/LIHEAP office in your area regarding emergency assistance. Please select your county below:

Greenwood County
Laurens County

Edgefield County
Abbeville County
McCormick County
Newberry County
Saluda County
Cherokee County
Spartanburg County